The Ottawa Women's Canadian Club

Notre Histoire

Packaging Room at the Women’s Canadian Club, 1918.

Over a Century of History

Depuis plus d’un siècle, le Club Canadien des Femmes d'Ottawa célèbre le patrimoine canadien, attire des conférenciers impressionnants et contribue à la société par des efforts de guerre et un programme de bourses d’études. Nous sommes fiers de partager avec vous les moments forts de notre incroyable histoire.

L'OWCC a attiré des conférenciers qui sont des chefs de file dans leur domaine au Canada et à l'étranger. Certain.e.s étaient des gouverneurs généraux et / ou leurs conjoints, des premiers ministres de province, des chefs d'État étrangers, des juges en chef de la Cour suprême, des députés et sénateurs, des ambassadeurs, des astronautes, des olympiens, des experts militaires, des professeurs d'université, des créateurs de mode, des médecins / infirmières , scientifiques, conseillers financiers, musiciens, groupes choraux, personnalités de la radio et de la télévision, historiens autochtones, auteurs, chefs, otages, fleuristes, photographes et explorateurs.

Moments dans le Temps

Un compte-rendu détaillé de l'histoire de l'OWCC

Rowena Cooper, archiviste du Club

Rowena Cooper a déménagé dans la région d’Ottawa en 2005 et a été présentée au Club Canadien des Femmes d'Ottawa par sa belle-sœur et ancienne présidente de l’OWCC, Ruth Cooper. Avant de déménager dans l'est de l'Ontario, Rowena a travaillé comme archiviste professionnelle et chercheuse en histoire, elle a également complété un contrat de deux ans avec la ville de Brampton en tant qu'historienne du cent cinquantenaire, produisant un CD-ROM interactif utilisé dans toutes les écoles élémentaires de Brampton. Bénévole active dans le domaine du patrimoine en Ontario, elle est une ancienne présidente de la Société historique de l’Ontario, qui sert de «parapluie» à toutes les sociétés historiques de la province de l’Ontario. Elle a été présidente du Ottawa Women’s Canadian Club de 2012 à 2014.

Découvrez l’histoire complète du Club Canadien des Femmes d'Ottawa,
le livre du Club est maintenant en vente.

The Ottawa Women's Canadian Club

Our History

Packaging Room at the Women’s Canadian Club, 1918.

Over a Century of History

For more than a century,  the Ottawa Women’s Canadian Club has been celebrating Canadian heritage, attracting impressive speakers, and contributing to society through war efforts and a student scholarship program. We are proud to share the highlights of our incredible history with you.

The OWCC has attracted speakers who are leaders in their field in Canada and internationally.  Some include: Governors General and/or their spouses, provincial premiers, heads of foreign states, Chief Justices of the Supreme Court, Members of Parliament and Senators, ambassadors, astronauts, olympians, military experts, university professors, fashion designers, doctors/nurses, scientists, financial advisors, musicians, choral groups, radio and television personalities, Indigenous historians, authors, chefs, hostages, florists, photographers and explorers.

Moments in Time

An in-depth account of the OWCC's History

Rowena Cooper, the Club's archivist

Rowena Cooper moved to the Ottawa area in 2005 and was introduced to the Ottawa Women’s Canadian Club by her sister-in-law and OWCC Past President, Ruth Cooper. Prior to moving to Eastern Ontario Rowena worked as a professional Archivist and historical researcher, she also completed a two year contract with the City of Brampton as the Sesquicentennial Historian, producing an interactive CD-rom that is used in all elementary schools in Brampton. An active volunteer in the heritage field in Ontario she is a former president of The Ontario Historical Society which serves as the ‘umbrella’ for all historical societies in the Province of Ontario. She served as President of the Ottawa Women’s Canadian Club from 2012-2014.

Discover the complete history of the Ottawa Women’s Canadian Club,
the Club’s book is now for sale.